Call Today for a FREE Confidential Case Review - Toll-Free 24/7 (866) 920-0753

125 Illnesses Linked to Recalled Gluten-Free Cheerios

No Longer Accepting Cases

October 8, 2015 — General Mills Inc. has recalled 1.8 million boxes of gluten-free Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios because they may actually contain gluten.

People with wheat allergies, Celiac disease (1% of the population), or gluten intolerance (6-7% of the population) could experience a severe allergic reaction, gastrointestinal illness, or discomfort after eating the recalled products. Fortunately, no hospitalizations or deaths have been reported.

The recall was issued after General Mills received 125 complaints since mid-September, according to the Star-Tribune.

Only products made on certain days in July 2015 at a facility in Lodi, California are affected. Cheerios made at other plants are not included. Click here for a list of recalled products.

General Mills said it is transitioning five types of Cheerios to gluten-free. The company said “an isolated incident resulted in wheat flour being inadvertently introduced into the gluten free oat flour system at its Lodi facility.”

Consumers who have allergies to wheat or gluten should not eat the recalled products. General Mills asks consumers to contact them for a refund or replacement by contacting Consumer Services at 1-800-775-8370.

 

Free Case Evaluation

The Schmidt Firm, PLLC has been recognized as one of the nation’s leading plaintiff’s law firms and handles cases in all 50 states. We are very proud of our legal achievements, but equally self-respecting of our firms reputation for providing personal attention to each and every client we represent.

No matter what type of case you have, you may contact us with confidence by filling out the email contact form below or calling us directly by dialing toll free 24 hrs/day (866) 920-0753.

*
*
*